The Tin-Kin has won…

The Saltire Society’s First Book of the Year Award 2009! Here I am, pictured with the other winning authors, at The National Library in Edinburgh on St Andrew’s day.

The Tin-Kin is a family story, and it means a great deal to me and my relatives that ‘our’ novel has been appreciated in such a way. Thank you very much to The Saltire Society, to The Royal Mail (who sponsor the First Book Award), and to the panel of judges. When I was writing The Tin-Kin I just wanted people to read it as a story, and maybe learn a bit about Scottish Travellers in the process. When I know they’ve enjoyed it too, that’s just brilliant! I hope this award will help spread the word about the book.

I enjoyed the day in Edinburgh with my husband, Chris, who drank lots of the free wine. We met the other authors, and I was really fascinated by the winner of the Research book category, The Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary. Work began on this impressive tome a full ten years before I was even born. I had a chat to two of the editors, who assured me there are lots of Traveller Cant words included in the thesaurus. I’m really looking forward to getting to see a copy.

